Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: flywheel holder

flywheel holder

hi guys,

i am starting to reassemble engine on my 700 virage. my problem is i don't have a flywheel holder.since this is my first overhaul,i'm not sure how hard it is to crank the nut on the flywheel.could i put the puller bolts on the flywheel and wedge it so it doen't turn while putting the nut back on.or any other ideas.are flywheel holders a pretty much one size adjusts to all.sorry for the inexperience on this matter. thanks

matt

Put a wrench on the pto coupler, as you tighten the flywheel nut you will tighten the coupler as well, make sure to use thread locker on them

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    You can also use the rope trick. Search on here for the details. Rope goes in the MAG cylinder for flywheel work

+1
    there is a trick with a rope... but i have never done this before... fromwhat i read it works good

you need too..

rotate the engine so the mag (front) piston is at tdc (top dead center) then back it down just a little... then get some clean rope and feed it down the spark plug hole.. make sure its good tight rope not frayed.. put enough down there that the piston wont move...

the reason for brining it to tdc is so that you do not get the rope stuck in any of the ports..

then you work on taking the fly wheel off.. some times they come easy some times they dont.. from what i have read...

but also do a search on here just in case im missing somthing.. but this has been coverd before!

alright guys.thanks a lot for the advice!! this is a great site,i will use the advice tonite.once again thanks for all the helpful info.

matt

+1
    I will be putting mine back together this weekend and was planning on using this method.

Put a wrench on the pto coupler, as you tighten the flywheel nut you will tighten the coupler as well, make sure to use thread locker on them
    Is there anything wrong with it????

+1