Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Boilerman Bill BPnta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Yulee, FL
    Posts
    887
    +1
    1

    Power/Load inbalance logic

    Why can't a power/load inbalance control logic loop be added to ECUs to control pump cavitation?


  2. #2
    SHOBiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Wylie, Texas
    Posts
    3,577
    Maybe if you have a pressure sensor in the tunnel so you now when to apply it.

  3. #3
    Boilerman Bill BPnta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Yulee, FL
    Posts
    887
    +1
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by SHOBiz View Post
    Maybe if you have a pressure sensor in the tunnel so you now when to apply it.
    You would know when to apply it by monitoring engine load.

    Low load effects are low airflow for a given RPM. An ECU could constantly compare airflow for current RPM against a set of values that contain normal airflow for the same exact "loaded" RPM.

    It would then bring the RPM down to balance the engine load to engine power.

    An ECU could make these comparisons in milliseconds!

    Bye-bye cav.

    I'm no I and C tech myself but it sounds simple.

  4. #4
    Take the time to smile sirbreaksalot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Brisvegas
    Posts
    4,163
    +1
    602
    Quote Originally Posted by BPnta View Post
    Why can't a power/load inbalance control logic loop be added to ECUs to control pump cavitation?
    its called MOTEC

  5. #5
    Boilerman Bill BPnta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Yulee, FL
    Posts
    887
    +1
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by sirbreaksalot View Post
    its called MOTEC
    If it's launch control you're referring to, that works much differently.

  6. #6
    abracadabra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wellington, FL United States of America
    Posts
    2,046
    +1
    180

    Thumbs up RIVA

    Quote Originally Posted by BPnta View Post
    Why can't a power/load inbalance control logic loop be added to ECUs to control pump cavitation?


    It's called RIVA's VIPEC STAGE III with 160 mm pump, I own one and it takes off like a rocket

  7. #7
    mjh3ides's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Jupiter, Florida
    Posts
    6,805
    +1
    2,024
    Seems to me it would be kind of counter productive. Why try figuring out how to dial back power on the launch after spending the $ to add power. There's lots of development going on to help these skis hookup, so it's just a matter of time till there are good solutions for every level of mods. Maybe, ask to Jim & Leo for some advice. I've seen vids of their skis with kick ass holeshot running B1's with the R2 reflash & I think they are still running 155 pumps & props.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. 2006 stx 15f has no power under load
    By Darks8 in forum Kawasaki PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-16-2014, 12:37 AM
  2. msx140 power lose under load
    By msx140-rider in forum MSX/Matrix
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 05-31-2010, 09:30 PM
  3. Hulk do you know anything about a Power Pipe?
    By joeg in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-22-2005, 03:24 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-18-2005, 07:49 AM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-30-2005, 10:25 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •