Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

2000 Yamaha GP1200R

Hey Guys,

New around the forum, and I am also pretty new to PWCs. My family used to own a Yamaha waverunner when I was younger, but I don't remember any details about it. My dad currently owns a 19' Larson bowrider that we use to ski, wakeboard, etc. I'm 21, and I'm looking to pick up a PWC to have a little extra fun at the lake during the summer. I'm a full time college student, and money is tight so I'm looking at spending about 2500-3000 tops. I found an for a '00 GP1200R, and I want to know what you guys think.

Here's the ad:

"2000 YAMAHA WAVERUNNER PREMIUM MILLENIUM EDITION GP1200R. SUPER FAST, NEAR 70 MPH. OIL INJECTED. LOW HOURS. INCLUDES ALL ALUMINUM TRAILER. WILL THROW IN JET SKI LIFT IF WANTED FOR LAKE CABIN USE. MUST SELL, UNDER BOOK. $2,800.00"

And here is a picture:

The seller offers to throw in a ski lift, but I will trailer the ski to and from the lake when I use it, so the lift won't be purchased. As far as the ski goes, what do you think of the GP1200R? The ad doesn't list hours or anything, so I sent the user the following e-mail to try to get more info.

My email to the seller:

"Hey,

I saw the ad for your 2000 Yamaha GP 1200. How many hours are on the machine? Have you ever had to do any irregular maintenance or replace any parts on the ski? Have you had any trouble with the machine at all?

Thanks,

Mike"

Are there any other questions I should ask? Are there any known problems with the GP1200R?

Does the price seem pretty fair if the sled is in good running shape?

I read a few posts, and compression seems to be a major concern when purchasing a used ski. How can I check the compression on the ski, and what numbers should I look for?

The ad states the ski can break 70. Is it possible for a 1200 to break 70 without any mods?

Thanks for all your help guys. I really appreciate.

Mike

sorry bro but NO breaking 70

Quote Originally Posted by pedruko View Post
    sorry bro but NO breaking 70