Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Question 2003 Virage Txi DI low hour motor blow

Hi guys, I've got a 2003 virage txi and the number one cylinder is down on compression. My mother took it out about 2 years ago and let someone ride it, needless to say, when they brought it back it wasnt running. Not being able to know what happened when it stopped running I wanted to check if there was anything common that goes out, oil pump/injector etc. The bike has less than fifty hours and i thought it too soon to just be wear and tear. The back two cylinders still have good compression. The bike barely turns over and only with a good jump, without all i get is solenoid click. Is there some things I should check so I don't rebuild the motor just to have the same thing happen again? Or does it sound like the rider dumped it and rolled it back with some water right into the intake?

Bare with me as I am fairly new to wrenching on wave runners, usually do my work on things with wheels.

Thanks in advance for the help and sorry if this is a repost, but I could not seem to find anything in the search.

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome to the Hulk

Before you tear the engine down, check the fuel pump pressure. Hook a pressure gauge to the schrader valve tee. and bump the starter over. The fuel pump should start, and the pressure should jump up to over 20 PSI (electric fuel pump).

It looks like you need to remove that MAG cylinder head, and have a look-see.

Unplug the fuel tank connector (so the fuel pump won't run while the injectors are off the engine). There is a locking slide tab - unlock the tab, then pull the fuel tank electrical connector out.

Unbolt all the injectors, and lift the bracket+injectors off the engine as a set. Don't loose the fat O-ring that sits on top of each injector (under the bracket).

Remove the water manifold bar, and set aside. Now you can remove the front cylinder head.