Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    +1

Bunch-O-Changes And She Started Right Up. Thanks GH!

First of all, I am fairly mechanical but I am not a mechanic. Everytime I work on my ski, I appreciate more and more what guys like Dan, Duke, WFO, etc... do for a living. And I only know a fraction (overstatement) of what these Wise Ones know. I have a fear of electrical work (relays and the sort) and with the help of a bunch of guys I tackled this stuff and it all worked. Thanks guys--you all know who I'm talking about.

I've been working on my FZS for some time now--I'm slow. This spring I've installed an R2 reflash, LC-1 (relay and all ), Innovative Boost and Temp gauges, Riva FPR and a Pet tach. I installed the battery tonight and after double and triple checking everything, I hit the starter with my other hand on the throttle. I checked all the new gauges and everything was on. I checked where I spliced into the wiring harness for a switched 12 volt supply and nothing was smoking. AFR gauge said 20 and I thought that was OK. I hit the starter and after she turned-over a couple times, she barked to life (small delay as I fogged her pretty good last fall).

AFR was 12.6/12.7 and I never gave it any gas. Boost looked like 1 PSI. Temp gauge was a bit erratic and I chalked that up to the fact that I started it without being on the hose (only ran it for about 10 seconds max each time).

Now, I just have to install the shaft and bearings into the stator and then the seals (thanks again Duke for your Sticky on this! ). Also, the tach isn't accurate. Not really happy with how I have to attach the lead for the signal.

I took pics and will post soon.

Won't be long now... Thanks to everyone here as I have learned a bunch and really am only just beginning (isn't there a song like that? ).

+1
    Nice work Craig! Where did you put the sending unit for the temp gauge? Also, you still on stock boost?

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by hitman View Post