97 XP perfomance help. Nozzle, Carb Jet, Prop, Flame arrestors/aircleaner

Hey Guys

I just picked up a 97 XP to add to my 95 xp. My goal is to have a quick ski to do a buoy course at our local lake. I want something that handles well and has good overall power.

All stock the ski GPSed at 54.1 MPH. Ski speedo read 54mph

I added a R&D intake grate, cleaned the carbs, fuel filter, adjusted them to open fully etc. Went out last weekend in some rough water and the speedo still read 53-54 mph pretty easy. I never GPSed it but it looked the same as the ski did on smooth water before I started playing with it.

Today I added a Solas Concord prop, new wear ring, and a nozzle that a local ski performance shop sold me off a later ski. I'm not sure what it was off of but its about 1.5 inches longer and they said it would definitely help the 97. The nozzle has a smaller ID but slightly longer length.

I took it out and on glassy water and GPS 51.4MPH. I'm a little disappointed. The ski feels a little better from a stop but not the difference I was looking for. The top end seems labored and weak.

Should I go back to the larger ID nozzle? Is this from the concord prop? I thought it would have better acceleration and slightly better top end.

I should also say today was the first time I was able to do a good plug reading. Its definitely lean at full throttle. The power ring on the plug was completely white! Heat range and timing are way out in left field but could be due to lack of fuel. Are there any recommended Jets for these carbs on this ski?? Good place to buy a Jet kit? The engine is completely stock right now other than the oil injection pump has been bypassed.

My last question. Is it worth it to do aftermarket flame arrestors. I've got a wholesale account with K&N. Are they worth the money or is there a better option out there.

I lied! One more question. I was also thinking of doing a head.. Is the bump in compression worth it? I run 93 in all my ski's anyway.