Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    AKA: Larry lafjax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Posts
    3,032

    My Hawkeye Depth Finder installation

    Couple of pics after installing the Hawkeye depth finder. It works fine. Installed the transducer outside the hull for trouble free use. The display mounted well with double sided tape to a 90-deg aluminum bracket and taped to the top of the visor. Easily removed if needed. I mounted the transducer to just an aluminum plate, taped it to the transom and added 4 small ss screws. Holds well up to 60 mph. Mounted the little beeper to the steering column support (not shown).
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC_2488-2.jpg 
Views:	347 
Size:	69.5 KB 
ID:	8356   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC_2489-2.jpg 
Views:	471 
Size:	60.3 KB 
ID:	8357  


  2. #2
    Nonstop, all day, everyday. 01xdime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Pasadena, MD
    Posts
    3,682
    +1
    1
    Do you get consistent readings at all speeds?

  3. #3
    AKA: Larry lafjax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Posts
    3,032
    Quote Originally Posted by 01xdime
    Do you get consistent readings at all speeds?
    Pretty consistant. Consistant enough to use for navigation. It sounds four times a second so the display is constantly changing. It reads to 10ths of a foot. It works good up to 60mph which is as fast as I can go. It has an alarm which you can set for say 6ft and the beeper goes off so you can watch what you are doing and not get too shallow. We have black water in Florida so you cannot see the bottom at all. It helps a bunch navigaing shallow parts of the rivers. I think it's hard to beat for $90. I got the best readings mounting the transducer outside the hull. The mount has a tab that lets it kick up if you ever hit anything like when launching if you happen to step on the left side and it hits the ramp. You just snap it back down and go.... I'm happy for $90 and meets my needs.

  4. #4
    Nonstop, all day, everyday. 01xdime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Pasadena, MD
    Posts
    3,682
    +1
    1
    Yeah i have the same thing but i'm leary about the transom mounting since i jump a lot.

  5. #5
    AKA: Larry lafjax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Posts
    3,032
    Quote Originally Posted by 01xdime
    Yeah i have the same thing but i'm leary about the transom mounting since i jump a lot.
    If it's working in the transome then great. I just never could get a good reading thru the transom.

  6. #6
    Nonstop, all day, everyday. 01xdime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Pasadena, MD
    Posts
    3,682
    +1
    1
    I may end up mounting it there. I think the fact that i used silicone to temporarily mount it in the hull didn't help any but the transom mount would be ideal for accurate readings.

  7. #7
    HOSS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Kenner, LA
    Posts
    4,759
    +1
    29
    I like this alot. I have been wanting one. Are there different transducers offerred? Like a thru Hull? Thats what I`d rather. Mounted plenty on vessels, yachts and ships. This is really cool. Awsome find. Give us particulars please and pics. Thanks,
    james

    Forgot to mention, I need a thru hull as my trim tabs will get in the way. Plus I get to mount it EXACTLY in font ( a few inches) of the intake. Yeap boyz,,,I`ll pick up speed!
    Last edited by HOSS; 09-19-2006 at 09:08 PM.

  8. #8
    Nonstop, all day, everyday. 01xdime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Pasadena, MD
    Posts
    3,682
    +1
    1
    http://www.shopnorcrossmarine.com/se...nder%2C/Detail

    HOSS, i purchased 2 from GTXX last week. There's only one transducer thats made to mount either in hull or transom. I opted for the in hull, in the stock position in my GTX. The GTX/RXT has a round depression next to the waterbox where the stock unit for the GTX LTD mounts. I used silicone to test mount it and i didn't get good readings. this may also be due to the fact that silicone probably absorbs the signal. It was late and the beer was running out so i rushed it. I'm going to try it again in the same location with some 5200 epoxy.

  9. #9
    HOSS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Kenner, LA
    Posts
    4,759
    +1
    29

    Thumbs up

    Thanks bro.

  10. #10
    Nonstop, all day, everyday. 01xdime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Pasadena, MD
    Posts
    3,682
    +1
    1
    Sorry i just noticed they also offer different in hull transducers as well as "recertified" units.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Depth finder install on 2008 RXT-X
    By iflyems in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-01-2008, 03:39 PM
  2. Northern VA shop to install Hawkeye depth finder DF1120S?
    By johnk in forum Kawasaki PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-03-2008, 10:33 PM
  3. Depth Finder Install
    By WAVEATER in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 02-21-2008, 11:22 AM
  4. Depth finder install (After market)
    By lafjax in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-10-2008, 03:47 PM
  5. RTX 2007 Depth Finder Install?
    By Muddy River in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-09-2007, 07:15 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •