Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Exclamation help! 2002 Polaris Virage TXI 1200

Ok, need some guidance please... I have aquired a 2002 Virage TXi. I'm new to the pwc side of water sports.

This is what I've done and know as a few min. ago?

-62 hours on machine
    -New Gas
    -Oil Level is good
    -I've installed a Flush Kit to make sure there are no clogs, and to run out of the water to test the maching.
    -Battery Has 11.2 Volts on the meter when off, around 14 volts when ideling.
    -I've pulled the plugs and inspected them, have replacements on order...
    -Checked all the lines etc.
    -No Warning lights on computer to this point.

So this is what the problem is and has been for a year now. The ski will start, run, idle and rev up and down as it should. but after approx. 10 min. of running or idling it will just stop running. You can turn right around and start it back up and it runs for about a minute and then stops running. Over and over again.. No lights or warnings come up when it dies.

My next step is to do a compression check on the ski and replace the spark plugs and tripe check the battery. What else does anyone recommend trying?

Thanks in advance..

Josh

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Do NOT run it on the hose for more than two minutes at a time. The through-hull seals and jet pump seals are cooled only when the hull is floating in water.

Running those seals without water will melt the seal lips.

The Reverse Flush hose connection is just that - for reverse flushing material out of the water jackets. It does not provide complete and proper cooling of the engine and EMM.

11.2 volts on a battery says it is very weak. I would suggest a new battery.

Correct spark plugs are a must - no substitutes. NGK PZFR6H only.

Check all the small cooling hoses for blockages or kinks. You may need to remove the fittings on the stator cover to check for clogs.

The EMM requires proper water cooling.