Thread: 2002 Virage

2002 Virage

On the virage i just got the guy i bought it from said he took it to his "polaris guy" and the guy told him that the breaker on top of the battery tends to fry the computer when the breaker trips so he disconnected it and put a fuse inside the breaker housing. This didn't sound right to me but im new to polaris pwc's any thoghts?

Also is the digital display supposed to stay on all the time?

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Is this a fuel injected or carburetor engine?

2 or 3 cylinder?

Well, the breaker is not supposed to trip, unless a short or electrical failure occurs. For many owners, the Reset button just never activates.

The circuit breaker can fail if it cracks and allows water and corrosion inside, but it is a simple item to replace.

The main issue with a fuse is that you need to carry spares with you on the water. If the fuse blows, you need to be able to replace it to get going again. The Reset button is a simple push to reset and restore power. That is why Polaris used a circuit breaker.

It should be easy to purchase and install a new Reset button. Not expensive.

The MFI display should always show the clock. It has a low power sleep mode that begins after five minutes of no activity.

Click the links below for more good info

It's a fuel injected 2 cylinder

the guy I bought it from said he had to to a new brain it it because his polaris guy said it fried his when the breaker tripped. I figured that would be an easy part to find. But I cleaned up the grounds and the eem pins on the connector and Its still has the lack of power and the sputtering and stalling i talked about the other day.

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by Jamey1985 View Post
    the guy I bought it from said he had to to a new brain it it because his Polaris guy said it fried his when the breaker tripped.