Thread: Newbie - SLX780

Newbie - SLX780

Alright, I'm guilty....this was a total impulse buy. I have zero pwc experience but I am comfortable doing most jobs on my bike and jeep.

I came across it this weekend at an estate sale. Previous owner passed away.
    I got it for a steal. Heres what I know.

12 hours according to the Display.
    1995 Polaris SLX 780 (came with a triton galvanized trailer). Both titled, I was the winning bid at $350.

While I know the hours could have been reset, the condition of the engine compartment, gaskets, carbs, etc leads me think that maybe...just maybe this thing really does have 12 hours on it. But who knows.

I know that it's been sitting for two years and was winterized before being put away. I bought it with no battery. Brand new impeller and the fuel pump was replaced 3 years back according to receipts. Looks like it's been well cared for and stored indoors.

Went out, bought a new battery. Charged her up and as much and she tried, just wouldn't turn over.

Sparkplugs had a little oil on them, but cleaned them up and spark was good. I'm waiting for my compression tester to arrive but all pistons are firing with enough force to see air moving. (if that makes sense).

The gas/water separator does not seem to be filling up with gas which leads me to believe this is a fuel delivery problem. (Yes, I have the fuel valve on the exterior of the craft turned to the on position)

I traced the power from the sending unit in the gas tank to the electrical box, test for power and voltage seems fine. Though the sending unit doesn't click or pump with direct current applied.

Couple questions.....

1) any comments on the ski in general? I've been looking around in the forums here and seems to be a few people that have good things to say about it. anything I should be particularly careful about? any comments based on the pics?