Smile What should I do???

Gidday guy's, I'm new to the forum even thou I have been riding for a few years always keen to learn stuff.

I have read the thread on the other Yamaha forum on this site: Re Dumping No 3. putting a T piece in or not!!

What I would like to know is:
    Will this help the problem that I'm experiencing with my 1997 GP1200. I have replaced the rubber outlet pipe stinger / waterbox twice in as many as 10 outings. The first had a slight split in it, thought it was due to old age and contamination of fuel / oil. The second pipe 6 months later had the ars_ ripped out of it severley and basically melting the rubber to the water box.
    I just removed the stinger it had a lot of crap in there little pebbles / sand etc, found it had not cat, is this model fitted with a cat from factory?? It does have a exhaust sensor fitted on the stinger, buzzer or warning light have never come on apart from when you intially kick the ski over. Motor has done 200hrs and is completely stock and compresion is between 100 to 110psi. Any suggestions Oh just 1 more thing will the D plate help on the 1997 GP1200

Regards Charlie...

+1
    A 97-99 GP1200 does not have a cat-con from the factory, so there is no way to install a D plate.

+1
    Your infor is referncing the GP1200R and not the 97-99 GP1200

....back from the dead.... J-ME's Avatar
    +1
    That rear section of the stinger does have a tendency to get clogged under certain riding conditions. Remove the pipe and remove the metal barbed retainer and rubber gasket to clean out the debris. That rubber gasket may be deteriorated due to age and the exhaust oils, so replace it if necessary.

What size are the hose barbs for the stinger water injector? Some exhausts used 1/4 barbs and these are not as desirable as the later 5/16 barbs and hose.

A "T" will not help your problem if the stinger waterjacket is clogged.

Quote Originally Posted by J-ME View Post