Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

97 xp fues blowing?

I just picked up this 97 xp 800 and got it running, The vts module is bad keeps blowing the fues so I left it out. When I took the ski out on the water I ran it around for a few min, than when I went wfo for about 10sec it blew the 5a fues second from the bottom. Any ideas ive search a bit on this and some ppl are thinking the epem is bad? Ive had good luck with this site so im asking yall.

Another issue is the pump was missing some parts so I changed it with one I had from a 95 xp are they the same? The reson for asking is when you hit full throttle off the line it seems to be burning the prop or cavitating pretty bad.

Sorry im new to seadoos, It did feel like a very fun ski thow lookn forward to getting it fixed.

Most the time when the mpem fuse blows they are toast. Check all the connections. The 97 xp mpem isnt cheap. As for the vts fuse make shure the motor isnt locked up. If it isnt then you may need a new vts box.

both same pump 140mm

Ok the vts issue is fixed but I changed the epem with another one I had but is still doing the same thing. Any where eles I should be looking all the conectors look fine.

+1
    Usually, the 5 amp fuse blows because either the stator fried or is being shorted out buy a metal shaving. Somtimes, the mpem survives this as that is why the fuse is there in the first place. If you continue to blow the fuse without fixing the problem, then you will fry your mpem. You need to pull the mag cover and clean and inspect the stator before buying a new mpem. It may be okay. But you will curse yourself if you buy a new mpem and fry it as soon as you plug it in because you didn't fix the short.

Quote Originally Posted by mibunkerking View Post