New Guy with a 95 SL 750.

Hey everybody, I have been lurking for a few days, but now it is time for me to join in.

Fist, a little background on myself. I am self taught on everything I do and I am not afraid to tackle anything, and I love new things. I am no stranger to water and have been restoring boats (see my latest resto thread at for a couple of years now. Last week I got the itch to restore a Jetski, and that is what brings me here.

I picked up a 95 SL750 for a smoking deal in my area and I am ready to dive in. I have been reading for a few days and I know how to use the search function, and I will not ask the same questions that get asked over and over.

Here is a list of what has been done

The PO burned the magnito piston last year and did a tear down. He replaced the fuel pump, switched to premix and replaced all the fuel lines. He took it out to the lake and said it still did not have power. That is when he gave up and how I have it now. He showed me the old piston and it was scared on one side. I asked if he replaced the jug and he stated no. Hmmmm. First of all that cylinder has very low compression, and so I took the head off. You could actually see where the scaring was on the wall and there there was a small gap between the wall and the ring. Hence the no compression. I also noticed what looked to be welding slag on top of the piston and head.

So here is my game plan. I am going to yank the engine and replace that jug, piston and head, and then check the entire crankcase, and make sure the crank is indexed. I have a question about indexing. If you are out of index, do you have to replace the crank? Also I cannot find the thread where is talks about how to do this. After that I will check all the fuel lines and then see if she works.

I was planning on starting a resto thread in in the project forum. I take tons of pics and post lots of youtube videos. I did this on my last boat build and people loved it.

You guys game?