Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

+1

Has anyone ever built there own house?

I have a lake house that was built in 1947. The house was built out of telephone poles to look like a log cabin. Needless to say the smell is bad inside the house and with my 1.5 year old now wanting to go to the lake all the time we dont sleep there anymore due to what the creasoak might do to her.
    The house is built into the side of a hill the main foundation is in good shape so I was thinking I could demo the old house and build myself a new one. I am planning to build it my self. has anyone ever done this that is not a carptner by trade? Any advice would be welcome.

I am still on the fence on doing this. If I do it I plan to start demoing the house around Labor day. So building any new skis or boats will be on hold until after I finish the house but I think this will be a cool project if I can pull it off. I have already built the dock 30' long with a single slip and 11'x10' swim peir with 2 hydroports attached to it and a metal roof 12' above the decking of the dock to clear my tower when my boat is on the hydrohoist. I also built a 65' long walk way abd a 15' landing bridge on the shore.

I need to finish my currect projects:
    1) Finish my 2000 Air Nautique its almost done just need to get it over to the paint shop and then get the new motor running.
    2) finish putting together my Freestyle Superjet. It should be done at the paint shop next week. Then just reassembly. 760 motor Factory pipe type 4, foothold in the rear and the front, shorter hand pole lower hood and nose piece, d cut ride plate and a works intake grate.

So I sould have them done and playing with wayyyyy before I start this project. the plan for now is to start taking any extra cash and start stock piling the lumber at my city house in the garage. When there is enough to at least build the weather tight portion of the house then the fun begins.

Am I out of my mind or is it do able?

+1