Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

driveshaft noise???

Bare with me guys. Im new to the pwc and not up todate on the lingo yet. So my dad gave me a 05 rxt with the broken flywheel mod. Ive pulled the engine down replaced the bolts with the new updated ones and also had to replace the stator. I also checked the oil pumps while I had it apart and didnt find any debris in the pumps or the screen. Well I got it all back together, fired right up and I have about 20 minutes of run time on the hose checking for leaks and such. Fired it up for the last time today before it makes its first lake trip and after about 5 mins of run time it started making a brrrrrr sound and I can see the driveshaft vibrating very fast. It also comes and goes ( vibrates for 5 secs then stops for 5 seconds). Im not sure what a pwc pump sounds like cavitating but the noise sounds similar to a hydraulic pump cavitating. Any ideas?

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by yellow93coupe View Post
    Bare with me guys. Im new to the pwc and not up todate on the lingo yet. So my dad gave me a 05 rxt with the broken flywheel mod. Ive pulled the engine down replaced the bolts with the new updated ones and also had to replace the stator. I also checked the oil pumps while I had it apart and didnt find any debris in the pumps or the screen. Well I got it all back together, fired right up and I have about 20 minutes of run time on the hose checking for leaks and such. Fired it up for the last time today before it makes its first lake trip and after about 5 mins of run time it started making a brrrrrr sound and I can see the driveshaft vibrating very fast. It also comes and goes ( vibrates for 5 secs then stops for 5 seconds). Im not sure what a pwc pump sounds like cavitating but the noise sounds similar to a hydraulic pump cavitating. Any ideas?
    Your ski won't cavitate out of the water. Did you have the rubber driveshaft damper on when you installed the driveshaft? Have you checked the impeller nose cone?