Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

question about maintaing a sl750

Hey guys wanted to say hi, Im new to the forum and had a couple questions. I did a search and didnt really find what I was looking for. I have two 1994 SL750's. I have read alot on here about the maintence that goes into these machines so i wanna give them both a tune up before I start riding them this year. I do have a compression tester and all the tools necessary to work on them. I am a collision repair technician so I work on cars all the time but am new to the two cycle engine world. So im looking for a list of parts to buy to start with such as a new fuel pump, fuel lines, carb rebuild kits and anything else the experts recomend. Any part numbers and a good vendor to buy this stuff from would be greatly appreciated!!
    Thanks,
    Jason

Canadian Beaver Inspector jkindt's Avatar
    Welcome...there is a great link in my sig that will answer a lot of questions.

Parts Source

John Zigler over at Rock County Jet Ski is always a good parts source for the older polaris machines.

Thanks guys for responding. I am ready to get these things in the water. I did a compression test tonight and had 130 on all cylinders. Does that sound about right?

Quote Originally Posted by Payton820 View Post
    Thanks guys for responding. I am ready to get these things in the water. I did a compression test tonight and had 130 on all cylinders. Does that sound about right?
    Sounds great! 130 on all cylinders is about perfect! Especially if all three are the exact same. Have you upgraded the fuel systems yet?

+1
    Check your gas cap on the tank itself for cracks. they have updates for aluminum caps to prevent that from happening. any air leak in the system can cause big problems quickly. replace all your fuel lines, youll need uscg approved hose. use otiker clamps if possible/