Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Newbie to PWC's--can someone steer me in the right direction?

Wasn't sure which section to put this in, because it's not specific to a certain brand... I'm a newbie when it comes to PWC's and would like to hear some pros/cons to some of the jet ski's I'm considering buying. The only jet ski I have ridden (however I have ridden a lot) is my buddy's Sea Doo 155hp GTX wake edition. On the lake we spend our summer vacation on, it usually tops out at 52 mph--probably would be more, but it's usually somewhat choppy. I like the way the SeaDoo rides, but I would like something with a bit more power if it can be had within my budget (READ: so I can beat my buddy, LOL). I would like to find something in the $4k to lower $5k range with trailer. So far, these are the PWC's that I have found locally that have been within my budget. I would like to hear any pro's and con's that you experts can share. Also, I would prefer a 3 seater as they do seem to be more stable.

• 03-07 Honda Aquatrax F-12X - this one seems to be very reliable from what I have read. Guessing I could mod it to get some more power to be comparable to a supercharged SeaDoo
    • Yr ?? Yamaha FX Cruiser HO 160HP - not sure if this one will be fast enough, but I could be wrong.
    • 02+ SeaDoo GTX 4-tec supercharged - this may be the least reliable of the bunch, but probably the fastest? So far, I have only found 185HP versions (02-05) in my budget but would love to have a 215HP version or RXT.
    Thanks in advance... and if there are any more considerations, please let me know. Keep in mind I prefer a 3 seater and a performance oriented machine.

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by boostedgta View Post
    03-07 Honda Aquatrax F-12X - this one seems to be very reliable from what I have read. Guessing I could mod it to get some more power to be comparable to a supercharged SeaDoo