Thread: Too much oil?

Too much oil?

Changed the oil in my 2006 SCIC and was able to pull out a little over 3.5 qts. Changed the filter and had no major problems. But when I went to fill it back up it took all 4 qts to get it back to the middle. I did warm the engine up and checked the level with the boat level and it was in the middle of the two bends. Im not sure if I should pull out the half qt. Any thoughts?

Thanks Allen

I'm a noob here but I'll add a data point. I changed my oil 2 weeks ago and the level was at the top bend prior to changing. I pulled out 3.1 quarts. Since I thought I may have had a little too much oil previously I decided to add a little less.. just 2.9 quarts. After running, etc. the level is still right about the top bend.

You added 4 qts plus had residual prior to adding it... sounds like a lot to me.

Yes, so in theory theres just under 4 1/2 qts in there. Im going to recheck it this afternoon and most likely pull out 1/2 qt to be safe. I had a brain fart and kept adding after I checked the oil and it was at the lower bend.

You might have too much oil in there but i have to wonder if you were a half quart low to start with.

David I think you may be correct, I pulled out a 1/2qt and rechecked and it was just below the lower bend.

I added the 1/2qt back in and double checked that the engine was level and that it was warm. Again it was back in the middle of the two bends.

I think I am going to leave it, I dont see were the dip stick would lie to me.

The one thing I have learned from this is that I should have checked the level before I started. I was assuming that the level was correct.

Thanks for your input guys.