94 SL 650 bogging out under load

Hi all I'm new to this awesome forum...
    I'll start with the issue I'm having, then go into the history of the ski afterwards. Here is the issue: ski idles perfectly but once in lake and under throttle, ski starts to go, then bogs out and dies. You can manipulate it a bit with the choke and maybe get about 100ft before it bogs out again.

Here is the history of this Polaris, last summer my friend Mark bought this ski for $700 with trailer. When he bought it, PO had it hooked up to a hose and ski started on a dime. Engine area was clean and spotless, and ski seemed to idle and throttle perfectly. PO said he had upgraded the fuel pump. So Mark purchased it , took it to the lake and experienced the issues I mentioned at the beginning of the thread. My friend and I came over to help , we took the carbs out and cleaned them, changed the spark plugs and headed to the lake. Ski ran pretty good that day, but we still had to use the choke or it would bog out, but this time if you did it right it would stay running but pretty much only at full throttle. Anything less than full throttle required using the choke.

So Mark decides to take it to the lake the next week with friends and his family. He experiences the same issues as the first day out, ski starts to go at full throttle, then after about 50 to 100 feet of travel ski bogs out, and this time the choke did not help the situation. He was furious about the issues, just bought new (used) Seadoo's and I have now inherited the Polaris. So I'm pretty happy to say the least, free jet ski!! I have been researching a lot of threads on this site and have downloaded a manual. Anyone know where I should start with this issue?
    I just got the ski Wednesday and have added new gas to it, hooked up the hose and it's running perfectly. i just don't know what to look for from here.

She likes the bike. But the ski gets her wet!!!! xlint89's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome to the Hulk.