Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Removing 98 GTX Motor, Help Pls

Hey fella's, im new to the forum, long story short im removing the motor from my 98 gtx to send out to a sponsor on this forum to have it rebuilt. Im new to sea doo motors etc but not new to pulling general motors out of cars etc. I am stuck at how to get the shaft removed from the motor. Ive removed all the lines, motor mounts/bolts from the motor to the sea doo but i cannot figure out how to remove the shaft. Do i need to remove the entire shaft from the back of the sea doo out to get this motor out? Or is there a shortcut to this process? If not what tools did you use to pull the shaft out and did you have to do anything at the flywheel for it to come out or does it simply pull out with some force?

Also there is a center silver section on the shaft in the middle i believe the manual refers to it as a floating o-ring piece, its obviusly too large to pull out of the back of the sea doo so somehow it needs to be remove towards the front of the sea doo so the rest of the shaft can be pull out of the back. Any info or help would be much appreciated.

This is the first time ive worked on the sea doo but determined to get this motor out, rebuilt, and re-installing it myself. Today is day one but hasnt been to shabby, thanks fellas

-Rich

+1
    welcome to GH!!

you need to remove the pump off the back of the boat first. then, on the shaft next to the motor, you should see silver collar. push that down the shaft (away from the motor against the carbon ring and sleeve). this will expose the "C" clamp. take that off and pull the shaft out the back of the boat (minus the silver collar).

Quote Originally Posted by mibunkerking View Post
    welcome to GH!!