Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Project GP1300R Remove Decals and Foot Mats

I'm a newb here, but no stranger to forums and the unwillingness of some members to contribute to excellent forums such as Greenhulk. With that said, here's my first contribution.

Little background. I just picked up a bone stock 2004 GP1300R. I got a great price on the ski, but it needed a little cosmetic TLC. The hull was yellow from being in the water a lot, the decals were in poor condition, and the stock foot mats were absolutely atrocious looking.

Step 1 - Clean Hull

I purchased a hull cleaner called Star Brite Instant Hull Cleaner after seeing some demos on Youtube. All I can say is wow! Almost instant results. Simply wet a sponge with the cleaner and wipe on. No need to rub or scrape following treatment. Wait for a minute after applying and simply rinse off with water. Yellow hull went from yellow to white instantly.

Step 2 - Remove Decals

Removing the decals was a relative breeze. I used an industrial heatgun made by a company called Eddy Products in Racine, WI. You can purchase them from their eCommerce site at http://www.heatgunstore.com. The heatgun I have is a variable temperature gun. Simply use the heatgun on it's coolest setting to heat up the sticker and help loosen the adhesive. Following a quick treatment with the heatgun, you can simply start to peel away the decal. Most decals came off clean. A few left behind some adhesive. Simply use some acetone on a rag to wipe away the remaining adhesive. Acetone seemed to work better at removing the adhesive over brake cleaner.

Heatgun Used - http://www.heatgunstore.com/Shop/Hea...S4C23I156.aspx

Step 3 - Remove foot mats