Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Quick question

  1. #1
    2000 Polaris Pro 1200 rdizz81's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    315

    Quick question

    as im reading on the forums about how to check compression i have noticed some say keep spark plugs in and take wires off and some say take plugs out

    what is the proper way?

    remove all spark plugs and check

    or

    keep plugs in to check?


  2. #2
    Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    near Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    36,599
    +1
    1,276

    Arrow How to properly test compression - all spark plugs out, throttle held wide open

    Per the Polaris service manual;
    Remove all spark plugs, hold throttle fully open.

    Ground spark plug wires on the grounding bar if you have one, or lay all the connected spark plugs on the bare metal of the engine to absorb the spark coil energy.

    Battery must be not only fully charged, the battery must also be in good enough health to actually deliver strong voltage while cranking.

    A fully charged but internally weak battery will not provide reliable compression numbers, as the voltage will droop when the engine is cranking. Sagging voltage while crankign means reduced cranking RPM, and reduced compression readings.

    Removing all spark plugs allows for the fastest cranking speed, which is what you want when checking compression.

    Throttle is held open to allow maximum air into the engine, which is what you need to develop maximum and consistent compression readings.

    This method provides the most consistent results when testing compression, and it is the method we are expecting when others report their compression numbers.

  3. #3
    2000 Polaris Pro 1200 rdizz81's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    315
    Thanks K7!

    now as far as grounding the wires couldnt i just hold the stop button while cranking to stop spark?

  4. #4
    Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    near Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    36,599
    +1
    1,276
    Quote Originally Posted by rdizz81 View Post
    Thanks K7!

    now as far as grounding the wires couldnt i just hold the stop button while cranking to stop spark?
    Depends on the model.

    Some Polaris models have a combined Start & Stop button.

    Some others won't crank if the lanyard is not in place.

    If yours will crank with the lanyard removed, then you can do it that way.

  5. #5
    2000 Polaris Pro 1200 rdizz81's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    315
    mine will not crank without the lanyard BUT

    the lanyard is connected to the stop button and there is a diffrent button for the start

    so i can shut off ski with lanyard in place with the stop button and crank with the start.

  6. #6
    ph2ocraft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Campbell, Ca.
    Posts
    14,100
    +1
    105
    Quote Originally Posted by rdizz81 View Post

    so i can shut off ski with lanyard in place with the stop button and crank with the start.
    I've never tried this, does it actually work?

  7. #7
    2000 Polaris Pro 1200 rdizz81's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    315
    Quote Originally Posted by ph2ocraft View Post
    I've never tried this, does it actually work?

    When i pull up to dock with lanyard in place i hit the "Stop" button and it will kill the engine.

    so i assume im ok to check compression while holding the stop button!

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Homer Glen Il.
    Posts
    8,704
    +1
    109
    just lay the plug wires off to the side and crank it over it's not a big deal .

  9. #9
    2000 Polaris Pro 1200 rdizz81's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    315
    Quote Originally Posted by 785 lugs View Post
    just lay the plug wires off to the side and crank it over it's not a big deal .

    Gotcha!....

  10. #10
    ph2ocraft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Campbell, Ca.
    Posts
    14,100
    +1
    105
    I still want to know if you can actually push the start and stop button at the same time, I would think there would be a lock out of some sort.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Quick question!
    By Totallyblown in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 04-17-2006, 09:04 PM
  2. Quick question....
    By Totallyblown in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 03-15-2006, 05:35 PM
  3. quick question
    By jungo in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-31-2005, 10:54 PM
  4. Installing Riva exhaust have a quick question
    By Mark S in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-28-2005, 11:10 AM
  5. BOV quick question
    By 05RXPnoob in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-05-2005, 01:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •