Best Bang for the buck

Hey everyone, I'm new to the watercraft sport but I've got a lot of experience with 2 stroke and 4 stroke engines, I have my own machine shop and I am capable of a fair amount of mods to engines. I've been racing ATVs for while and this is a new sport I sort of fell into, so i'm learning what I can about it.

I just recently acquired a '99 900 STX with 131 hours on it, and it seems to be in good shape. I took it out last weekend for the first time and it ran pretty strong, a little rich from what I could tell, but strong.

The only thing I did was install a pump primer to eliminate the long times to get it started when it was cold at the dock. I noticed when I slammed on the throtle from idle, it boggs sometimes then picks up and goes fine. When I am at full throttle and I drop the gas and let it run back down to an idle, it stalls. Is that normal or is that a side effect of the fuel primer I installed?

My next question is what is available for mods on these? I know you can get an impeller, but is there aything else? Keep in mind I don't know aything about how a PWC moves other than it pulls water in from underneeth and pushes it out the back. Is there a prop and impeller? When you change one should you change both if there is? It maxes out about 44MPH on an average day on the lake (not glass.)

It probably needs some reeds, maybe rings, but it runs good enought for right now I'm not going to tear the motor apart. Are there other thing that need to be maintained; things that need to be replaced ever so often? Bearings? shafts?

Thanks in advance, I appreciate the help

Are you basing your 44mph off the speedometer on the ski? Usually they show faster than you're actually going, and even so, most of those skis top out at around 50ish in reality, give or take some.

Have you checked the compression in it? It's not normal for them to die, so it may be a little problem.