(New Here) 05/06 RXT Questions

Hey all-
    Newbie here, saw a refernce from the sea-doo.net site. My 1st pwc was a 02' RXDI, had for 2 years, sold it and now ready to get back into it again.

I think I want a 3 seater so my 2 daughters, 6 & 8,can start to enjoy with me, tubing, etc. So far I'm leaning towards a 05/06 RXT. If I can get one preowned in good shape, I'd consider to save a few $.

Here are more questions:
    1. I've been reading stuff about clutch and washer problems. Very confused as I don't know anything about these 4 strokes & scic engines. Can anyone give a "lay persons" explanation to all this?
    2. If there are upgrades/fixes to known problems, what are those?
    3. Is there any other caveats to buying the 05/06 models?
    A local dealer is selling leftover 06 RXTs for $8999. I know that is a great price but I'm in no hurry since I have 6 months to wait for the season to start.

Any advice or input greatly appreciated.

Quote Originally Posted by Davesavvy
    Hey all-
    Newbie here, saw a refernce from the sea-doo.net site. My 1st pwc was a 02' RXDI, had for 2 years, sold it and now ready to get back into it again.

I think I want a 3 seater so my 2 daughters, 6 & 8,can start to enjoy with me, tubing, etc. So far I'm leaning towards a 05/06 RXT. If I can get one preowned in good shape, I'd consider to save a few $.

Here are more questions:

1. I've been reading stuff about clutch and washer problems. Very confused as I don't know anything about these 4 strokes & scic engines. Can anyone give a "lay persons" explanation to all this?
    2. If there are upgrades/fixes to known problems, what are those?
    3. Is there any other caveats to buying the 05/06 models?
    A local dealer is selling leftover 06 RXTs for $8999. I know that is a great price but I'm in no hurry since I have 6 months to wait for the season to start.

Any advice or input greatly appreciated.
    Welcome!