Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

2001 Yamaha 1200XLT bogging down on water but fine on trailer

I checked the threads and found a few situations similar but none having exactly my situation. I am new to PWC, boating yes but this is my first PWC. Background: Sat for two years, started and used maybe three times. I tested it for a 10 minute ride and it ran great, fast and smooth. I took it out today, after 5 minutes it bogged down and would not run over 3000rpm. It stalled at idle a few times, then after ten minutes it went up to 6000 rpm and sounded better but bogged down again. Brought home and hooked up hose, bogged for about two minutes then ran like a champ. Restarted again twice in a three hour time frame and it ran great, on the trailer. Compression 123, 125, 128 on each. I changed plugs just now. Fuel has been in for two years, I took as much out as I could and filled up adding additive. Do you think old fuel or carbs or something worse. I am reading up as much as possible and will take out tomorrow again, just thought I would get some help.

Thanks

If your not doing something, its hard to screw up. stlouisramsfan's Avatar
    Probably carbs, get them rebuilt/rejetted before you lean seize it...

Thanks, I guess after two years of sitting it is time. I ran it on the water again today and same thing. I will search the web for a good rebuild kit. I am trying to find a 2001 Yamaha service manual but only find the years before and after.

Jets question....What turns should I use on the carbs.

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by glcmranger View Post
    Thanks, I guess after two years of sitting it is time. I ran it on the water again today and same thing. I will search the web for a good rebuild kit. I am trying to find a 2001 Yamaha service manual but only find the years before and after.

Jets question....What turns should I use on the carbs.