Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    rxp1972's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    GREECE
    Posts
    125

    Please tech advice?

    I rebuild my SC with new rebuild kit i check if it slips and it looks like it slips.
    What should i do to fix the slip?
    I must machine what to make the slip at normal toque? (the question is hypothetical).


  2. #2
    Moderator beerdart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    25,930
    +1
    1,407
    At what force does it slip?

  3. #3
    speedskixp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    venice fl.
    Posts
    8,117
    +1
    120
    Hypotheticaly speaking this thread may help.
    http://greenhulk.net/forums/showthread.php?t=78668

  4. #4
    rxp1972's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    GREECE
    Posts
    125
    No you don t understand the question is hypothetical.
    If i rebuild my SC and it slip what should i do because everything is new and i can t tight with more torque because i make damage to the axis.

  5. #5
    Moderator beerdart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    25,930
    +1
    1,407
    Quote Originally Posted by beerdart View Post
    At what force does it slip?

  6. #6
    rxp1972's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    GREECE
    Posts
    125
    Ok speedskixp i understand thank you very much man.....

  7. #7
    Vern's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Grand Haven, MI
    Posts
    3,594
    +1
    128
    If you rebuild, you torque the SC acorn nut and the nut on the end of the shaft to 22 ft lbs with red loctite too. IF with a fresh rebuild, you check slip, and it is lower than you want, you can swap in some McMaster Carr spring washers, change the way the spring washers are stacked (Snoman just showed this in another thread), or just add a SC shim or two. The shims and MCM spring washers are both in the store.

    Most SCs will slip pretty close to what you want if you have a brand new rebuild with all new parts. Torquing the nuts does nothing to the slip ... what I do is assemble withOUT red loctite on the shaft nut, check slip, mess with washers, torque nut again, check slip, mess with washers again if needed, torque nut back on, etc. When slip is where I want it, THEN I put some red loctite on the shaft nut and torque to 22 ft lbs and install the SC.

  8. #8
    rxp1972's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    GREECE
    Posts
    125
    What is the problem if i dont use loctite

  9. #9
    DaveC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Central Oklahoma
    Posts
    2,362
    +1
    41
    If you do not use red loctite like Vern mentioned above the nut will come off while the engine is running.

  10. #10
    rxp1972's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    GREECE
    Posts
    125
    Oups i thing that is not good......

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Tech Advice Required - 2012 RXT-x
    By RobbyM in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-19-2015, 06:10 PM
  2. Help please! Need advice on 2006 rxt free flow
    By lukeybb in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-12-2013, 06:22 AM
  3. Jerry I need some advice please
    By SeaDoocer in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-10-2006, 11:23 PM
  4. Need advice from creative techs, I'm building a prototype.
    By ccassone in forum 2-Stroke Performance
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-18-2006, 06:55 AM
  5. 1300 hull crack...need advice please read
    By RXPNJ in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-28-2005, 10:30 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •