New to me 96 Venture 1100

All,

I am new to the water world and recently picked up a 97 Waveventure 1100 Triple.

I have a couple of simple questions to get started. My vessel still has the oil injection system in operation which I don't mind. Keeps me from having to carry premix anyway. What oil's have you all found to work best with oil injection? Should I stick with the Yamaha Y2? The parts counter and the service adviser said to stick with Yamaha if I am still injected. I don't know if they say that because they are partial to Yamaha or not. I know not all oils are the same. It's good to have something that burns clean, and doesn't foul plugs on low rpm situation. No wake zones, and waiting for my turn in line to load up at the ramp, I'd hate to start to foul a plug.

Also, I'm aware of the need to pinch off the intake line during a tow situation, however I don't know what line that is. Can somebody with one of the Waveventures get a picture and point out which hose it is that is necessary to pinch off.

So far this thing runs very well. No problems with it and seems to run strong. I haven't done a compression check yet, but would like to for piece of mind. I did change the plugs, I think the gap is around 28?? Whatever the plugs were set to out of the box because I don't have a manual for it yet to know the proper gap. Everything appears to be stock and it's just short of 190 hours.

Lastly, the service guy said the only real routine maintenance required is changing plugs and hitting the zerks. I don't know where the zerks are located yet. Can somebody give me a quick breakdown of what to grease, and what kind of grease is ideal for whatever needs greased.

Thanks for the help folks.

+1