Thread: bad day

bad day

Well I have been reading and soaking up info off the site for a while but unfortunately I now have to ask a dreaded question.

What parts do I need for a motor rebuild?

I have a 2001 GP1200R first of all. I checked my compression about a month ago and all was well. 119,116,113. I have put about 10 hours on it since then. Today I took it out and within 5 min off the trailer, just above idle it stalled all at once like it sucked up water. When I tried to restart it the started would not turn it over. I waited about 5 min and it started back up and ran another 30 sec and did the same thing. I could not get it to run well again. I checked the commpresion agian and #1 and #3 seem fine but #2 is about 90psi.

I am thinking I will attempt the rebuild myself but as I am very new to this I was looking for a rebuild parts list or kit. What all do I need? Do I bore the cylinders or do I have to re-sleeve it.

Thanks
    Beanutputter

XLTNoob
    First you need to find out what caused you to drop #3 in the first place..

Fix that, then worry about collateral damage.

figure I will find that during the tear down. If its a spun bearing or something internal, I am wasting my time trying to find it now. if it was a lack of oil, I have already decided to change all the lines or convert to premix

come on guys, I need some help. Do I need a full gasket set or just a certain few? What bearing and seals do I need for the lower half. Is it standard to put new jugs and pistons on all cylinders or just re-ring the good ones and replace the bad.

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by beanutputter View Post
    come on guys, I need some help. Do I need a full gasket set or just a certain few? What bearing and seals do I need for the lower half. Is it standard to put new jugs and pistons on all cylinders or just re-ring the good ones and replace the bad.