Project XR-1800 w/twin SHO's..... lots of work to do

Just bought a 2000 XR-1800 with twin SHO's on the cheap,, and got what i paid for i guess. Engines were installed and running when i purchased the boat but after backing into the water on the trailer and idling for a few seconds the intermediate housing unit on the right side blew its bearing and did a little damage to the hull. went home and started inspecting only to find both engines have about a 50-50 mix of water and oil for lubrication (looked like wendys frosty mix). Now im stuck with a poorly assembled project boat that im determined to see through and enjoy eventually. I am an accomplished mechanic, nobody touches my camaro or ducati's but me with a wrench,,,, but i have no experience with a boat so ill need lots of advice from you guys on here. I have no idea what condition the engines are in since finding the water in the oil, but i plan on pulling both of them and pulling the pan off to inspect the bottom end before turning the key again. first stage is to get the engines running in stock form reliably, then maybe adding some power!

Good luck with your project. I have always liked the look of the XR-1800, and with twin SHO engines it should fly. Hope everything works out for you.

+1
    where did you happen to find this for sale? where are you located?

Moderated
    sorry to hear its not quite what you expected but you sure do have a great platform to start with.....mmmmm twin SHO' motors running 16psi

16 psi will come, but first im aiming for running....

I won the boat on ebay from a kid in south tampa named chris garcia. it was advertised as a well running boat with new SHO's, rebuilt pumps, and a new bilge pump and blower. needless to say the boat was absolutely not as advertised!! more water in the oil than oil,,, NO blower and a crappy broken bilge pump that didnt even have a hose to pump overboard with.

im located in louisville ky