Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    I didn't want to put on a SHO, so im just a HO! ghostrider757's Avatar

Exclamation The ever elusive 2009+ FX HO Modification thread!

For those of us who made the decision to purchase a 2009+ FX HO rather than a supercharged SHO/FZR/FZS, it seems we have become the red headed step children of high performance! Yes, the HO was never intended to be an all out performance ski, and that is clearly understood.

However, for those that enjoy the fuel economy, and don't want to throw our significant others off at 80mph, there are some of us like myself that do want to achieve some performance out of it. Herein lies the problem. MODS! No, not moderators, not models, MODIFICATIONS!

To use myself as an example...firstly, I am not a mechanic, although I am mechanically inclined. I know my limits as to how far I can go before needing professional assistance. Im going to estimate that this ski (2009 FX HO) will do 63mph bone stock. Respectable for a non SC couch? yes. So, knowing I intentionally bought a non SC model, and have always had modified vehicles, I set a personal goal of making this ski reach 70MPH. Is this realistic? I hope and think so. Will it leave the sea-dont's and other high performance skis in my worthless rear view mirrors? Absolutely not! That is not my goal. I just want a little umph to keep up with the stock SC skis, nothing more.

With that being said, I hope this thread will benefit all of the NON SC Yamaha folks with the 1812CC motor, and maybe bring to light some untapped power, modification ideas, and our own little space in the 4 stroke forum. We are few, but we are here too

Please understand this is not a thread to bash SC vs. non SC applications, but to help those who share the same passion. For those with the 2009+ HO, feel free to step in, tell us what you've dont to your ski, post pictures....lets hear from you!

My current performance mods are:
    Riva FF Exhaust