central florida

i am taking it this is were i belong? yes i am new!

hello everyone, i am new to the pwc world. just bought the pair of them earlier this month (june2010).
    95 wave venture 700, did not run start click nothing, took apart what i am calling the controller (?) and found broken corroded bat and wire connections, fixed them and she starts and runs, though the steering cable is broken so it only makes left turns ( new cable ordered). but it runs great, and somehow faster then the 96 ?????
    96 wave raider 760, runs great right off the trailer, but some how slower the the 95????

i have no idea how many hours are on them but both skis were and have been in use though not by the most diligent person in the maintenece department. he sold them when the 95 just up and quit and couldnt figure it out. bad for him... good for me... i think i stole them.

so for my newbie questions,
    1- what maintinece can or should be done?
    2- i am a bit skeptical of two stroke "auto oiler system" i have heard horror stories, they both seem to be working, but how much oil do they use, tank of gas vs tank of oil.
    3-the digital display on the 95 does not work and on the 96 its erratic at best, were to start.
    4- were to get parts? i ordered the steerring cable for the 95 from parts pit stop online. they were the cheapest i found at 140.00 plus 18.50 shipping.
    5- towing a tube? the 95 is more the cruiser type, longer, wider. and suggestions?

other then that, thats about it for now. thanks for all your input.

I would start out with a check up on them. Do a compression test on both of them put in fresh plugs and fuel filters.
    lube the needed points. My raider 760 has two points to lube for the drive shaft bearing and for the starter bendix, not sure about ventures.
    I would think the raider should be faster than the venture. Bigger motor and I believe the hull is lighter.