Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

97 GSX 787 Break-in

Hey guys I am finishing up reinstalling a 787 back in my wifes GSX tonight and plan on starting to break it in. Any recomendations as to carb settings fuel mixture (oil pump is currently blocked off pump will be reinstalled after break-in)

All fuel lines have been replaced and fittings were cleaned never really found out how the last one died... Happend 5 yrs ago and we bought the new motor from SBT and it would not run right so we replaced the carbs and it still did not run right so I started playing with the new carbs and leaned it out melting the rear cylender then got a replacment at then end of season but never got around to install since we started a family..

So at this point I just have to double and tripple check anything that could have been the original cause.

flyin' the friendly skies airbornexp's Avatar
    +1
    Quote Originally Posted by wolfjon View Post

new motor from SBT
    this is what is wrong with your motor..chances are you bought a re manufactured engine from SBT which are in my, and most others opinions, absolute junk.

WOW airborn your just alot of help... 5yrs ago when I bought it a whole lot of people recomended them either way its still brand new and I have it so thats what I plan on running wether or not its good.... that being said does anybody else have any real comments on a good way to break in a new motor..

been around the block Stagesrt4's Avatar
    hes just messing with ya.....

Sorry then I am a little to new to this forum to realize that Should have put an LOL or something else and I would have known...