Have (2) 1999 Polaris SLTH skis and have problems with both!

I'm new to Green Hulk and I must say that I have learned more in the last three days of reading these forums than the three years I have owned my skis! For that, I thank you!
    Now to business: I have two 99 SLTH skis that I purchased from an acquantance and believe that I may be the third owner. One ski has always run well and the other has always had some annoying problems. After a recent visit to my local Polaris service center and spending about $1000 to address the annoying issues, I take my skis to the water to find the issues still exist. After having it out with the service shop, I soon come to the realization that I will be performing future maitanance myself!

First issue: My problematic ski has throttle issues. When I get underway from the dock, it will throttle up fine, but as soon as I clear the no wake buoys, it boggs down. It's wierd, full-throttle will kill it, and half-throttle is full speed. The shop said I may have a bad stator and that the ski is making odd timing sparks? I have cleaned the injectors, but am limited in other capacity beyond normal tune-up, any suggestions?

Second issue: The always functional ski now takes forever to start. New battery and spark plugs installed. Ski stalls out sometimes while in water... and take it while to turn back over.

any suggestions will be greatly appreciated!

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome

Having two of the same model makes it possible to do some tests by swapping parts. When you do so, it is important to not lose track of what parts came from which machine

First question, does either SLTH have the ignition update kit installed? You can tell from the part numbers on the CDI module and ignition coil. The original ignitions are known to have reliability issues over time.

Polaris sells Ignition System Update Kits, which cost about $300. These are much more reliable.