+1

First time GPr buyer

EDIT: Bought a 2001 GP1200R: Updated two posts below

I'm looking to buy a GP1200r or 1300r within the next few weeks. I'm shopping around and I've been looking here for a thread that tells you what to look for when buying a GP. Is there anything like this around here?

I'm familiar with skis, I'm just looking for common problems to look for when buying a GP. Obviously I'll be checking compression and taking a test ride.

I had one seller tell me that GPr's aren't rockets out of the hole like my 97 GP1200 was. He said I'd need a new prop and grate. Is this true? I find it hard to believe that it's normal to be sluggish.

Thanks guys!
    Last edited by Tommy Pantsdown; 07-18-2010 at 07:52 PM.

once again I'm no expert but i see quite a few people complain of cavitation on their skis. I know my xlt had a ton for sure which i am addressing now. Pretty much reading up on it all you should see that you should do several things right away for your ski including a intake grate and pump plug kit mentioned in every thread ever made on the subject! Someone posted some sort of epoxy that they got for like $15 and said it was super simple and worked great instead of dropping $80 on a kit. Peep around and its out there... Double check the mods! I don't think there are any specific demons to watch out for that you aren't aware of.... Just look for broken bolts on the intake grate ride plate shoe, pump and motor compartment. That's all i can think of i was in your position about a year and a half ago. My biggest mistake was not taking a close enough look at the hull from the inside as well as the outside and missed a big trouble area that ended up costing me last summer's use.