Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

sl 750 project, please help!!!

Hi guy, I'm very new to the world of pwc and have no idea on where to start with mine but do know a good bit about car engens .
    I have a 95 sl750 that I got cheep. The guy told me it ran out of water as long as he poored gas in the carbs. Got it home, starter turns but the shaft does not. The guy I got it from took off the intake and I took off the exust to get to the starter. Please help. Much thanks in advance.
    Dimitry from Atlant GA

+1
    if you take the spark plugs out, does the drive shaft turn by hand?

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1

I've removed all 3 spark plugs and the water pump shaft moves smoothly and freely. I removed the starter and tested it. Works fine. One thing I don't understan, normaly a starter would come out about an inch or so to make contact with the fly wheel, but this one does no such thing. Am I missing something??

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by dimitry82 View Post
    ...I removed the starter and tested it. Works fine.

One thing I don't understand, normally a starter would come out about an inch or so to make contact with the fly wheel, but this one does no such thing. Am I missing something??
    The Bendix gear assembly is inside the flywheel housing, not part of the starter motor.

Quote Originally Posted by K447 View Post
    The Bendix gear assembly is inside the flywheel housing, not part of the starter motor.
    thank you k447, and thank you for the web link, i learned a lot as well as some good tips on my repair/rebuild.
    i had all of what i am about to type ready and my coumputer froze on me and i lost all of it, so here it all goes again.
    i was not getting any fuel into the carbs, so i dicided to apply what i know about engens to my ski. cant be too much different, right?