2001 xp, 2 stroke performance?

Over the weekend I bought a 2001 xp that has been sitting in my neighbors garage for ever. Im new to the game of modding out these skis. I bought my first ski to play with this year. My buddies have always had them to ride and I was the guy to do the wrenching for them. I bought the 04 rxp about a month ago. I bought this xp 2 days ago. What I'm looking for is more performance out of the xp. I know it will never be the brute that the rxp is. Im a junkie thats looking for two things out of this xp. Speed and Sound. What can I do to top out this 951 xp?

+1
    Just a thought.
    Forever can be a long time indeed. Even inside a garage a 947 does not like to be stored. Even if it was fogged well when put up it is still prone to rust on the cylinder walls and wrist pin bearings. Just keep that in mind before throwing a lot of money into trying to mod it. Rusty wrist pins will come apart and make it look like a gernade went off inside that cylinder. It may be better to get it apart to make sure it is in good shape before getting to wound up in making it still not as fast as a stock RXP or GPR.

You can get sound with a TDR waterbox and or removing the resonator and putting in a '98 XPL crossover hose.

You can get speed, that is, serious speed (say around 70 or more) but only if you are willing to apply serious funding and be prepared to keep the cash coming for those times
    when you do not feel so fresh (as in, you turn the HS screws just a little bit too much hunting for the next 20rpm and instead you find a nice hole in the piston).

An XPL is not a drag racer's hull. It does not want to come out of the hole. It was designed to turn coners fast accelerate between bouys and do it again.

65-67 is attainable without being too close to the edge but those speeds do have their costs. It will require more compression, tighter squish, pump tuning (prop and nozzel),