Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    +1

Marine Paint vs Automotive

I am getting ready to paint my top deck and was wondering the differences in Marine vs Automotive paints. I plan on a one stage white for the top deck. Also how much paint will I need? I will be shooting it through an old skool Binks gun with a 2qt pressure pot. The ski is about the size of an RXT. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks

SPEED KILLS, BUT YOU GET THERE QUICKER Keddano's Avatar
    +1
    I used less then a qt. on all my red on the MSX. Personally I used a 2 part urathane enamel(paint/hardner). I have used the interlux marine before and did not like it. I really think you want to use something with a hardner with it. Imron use to be a brand name used alot. I have shot a color coat before and use a clear 2 part over it and loved the depth look it gave.

+1
    Hit the paint store and had a long chat ended up with the imron.

I do alot of painting, I paint cars for a living and do ALOT of side paint work, I'm getting ready to do alot of parts on my GP. I will aslo be doing a over all on my Seadoo soon. But I use base coat/clear coat and the depth is so nice..Please keep me posted on your ski,Also if you need any pointers I would love to help out anyway I can...

I used the brightside with a 2 part autmotive clear over it. It has held up great.

+1
    I am trying my best on spraying a GPR. I finished the lower hull and let it dry a couple days. Flipped the hull and started to spray the primer coat. Someone forgot to cover the lower hull before starting the top. Now I have a fine mist of primer on my finished lower hull. Is there anything I can do to save my finished work on the bottom? I was thinking of a rubber wheel on a drill, but I wanted to research before doing anything, especially chemicals. I need help. It is starting to cost as much as a professional job. HELP. --J

Canadian Beaver Inspector jkindt's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by jpeconsult View Post