Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

99 genesis ficht no spark

Im new here.
    Ive had this for 8 years. Have to put plugs in every other year. Started to sputter a bit 2 weeks ago. Started it this past weekend and it sputtered so I replaced plugs before heading out. No heading out occured because it would not start at all. I know that I have no spark or fuel pump action. I have a manual and I fix cars for a living. It's just hard for me to get my head around this. The kill switch seems to work properly. The crank sensor ohms at 151 which in my opinion does not match what the book says but falls in line with what someone in this forum said it should be. The stator ohms to what the book says and is not shorted to ground. One ignition coil ohms slightly higher then the other two. The 2 fuses inside the electric box are good. The fuel pump has power going to it and will run if grounded. I disconnected the tps and still no spark. I have a 96 sl700 and found that it would not start if the battery was not 100%. This battery is new last year and I have kept it charged. Also remember it started before I changed the plugs. I'm not sure whether this problem has been festering for years or just dumped on me now. I dont feel that I have tested enough things to condem the emm just yet. Any suggestions on what to test and how to go about it would be very helpfull. Thank you, Ralph

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1

Arrow By-pass 1999 Genesis FFI (Ficht) LR-503 Start/Stop module

Welcome

I would say you have covered a lot of diagnostic ground already.

I suggest by-passing the LR-503 Start/Stop module (4010263), as it can shut down the EMM if the module is nor working properly.

Open the electrical box that houses the LR-503 module. Unplug all the wires that connect directly to the LR-503.

Temporarily move the remaining Black/White wire to a Black terminal.