New Owner, New season, New problems

Hello- My brother and I bought a 2000/2001 Polaris Pro1200 Last summer. Took it out only a few times during the season, and had it winterized. I put in new spark plugs, attached the battery, and took off all the coverings around the intake and exhaust.

I attempted to take it out for the first time last weekend. The ski started up just fine and smoked quite a bit (due to fogging oil I assume), but then once I would hit the accelerator it died, and did this a couple times. Then I started it and let it run for a few minutes before accelerating, and once I accelerated, the RPM's increased but the ski did not move (did not propel me forward in the water), and water was splashing behind me. To me it seems like it is stuck between a gear? But I am new to Jetski's and need some advice!

Can anyone help me please?!

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Quote Originally Posted by PPro1200 View Post
    Hello- My brother and I bought a 2000/2001 Polaris Pro1200 Last summer. Took it out only a few times during the season, and had it winterized. I put in new spark plugs, attached the battery, and took off all the coverings around the intake and exhaust.

I attempted to take it out for the first time last weekend. The ski started up just fine and smoked quite a bit (due to fogging oil I assume), but then once I would hit the accelerator it died, and did this a couple times. Then I started it and let it run for a few minutes before accelerating, and once I accelerated, the RPM's increased but the ski did not move (did not propel me forward in the water), and water was splashing behind me. To me it seems like it is stuck between a gear? But I am new to Jetski's and need some advice!

Can anyone help me please?!
    What coverings are you referring to?

It sounds like the drive splines have stripped at one end or the other of the drive shaft.

Remove the jet pump and drive shaft, and inspect.