Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    race24x's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Fayette, Maine
    Posts
    1,005

    Riva Open Loop Install

    Hey guys I have been looking at this upgrade to install the Riva ride plate on my 06 RXT. I have read through alot of threads and just wanted an honest opinion of difficulty level and how long it took. I was an ASE certified GM technician that got into computers about 10 years ago and have been doing that ever since.


  2. #2
    Eric Ocman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Cataula, Georgia, United States
    Posts
    4,700
    +1
    77
    Took longer to take it all out then to put it back in. it's pretty easy. I would say three hours. I didn't use all their hose or the flush fittings and I trimmed here and there to make it neater. 11 years db programming myself. Oh and make sure you take the stock clamps off the thermo and use worm style. It will pop off and fill the hull.

  3. #3
    race24x's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Fayette, Maine
    Posts
    1,005
    Thanks for the tip on the thermo... I havent bought it yet I just thought that and a ride plate would be good for 2 MPH or so. Was working in Oracle on Unix now on SQL Server

  4. #4
    Eric Ocman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Cataula, Georgia, United States
    Posts
    4,700
    +1
    77
    Same here bro, mostly sql server but some oracle.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Branson, MO area
    Posts
    190
    +1
    1
    What are you guys using for shims? I have a RIVA plate on order, I hope to in stall it along with open loop and VTS on my 06 RXT latter this week.

  6. #6
    Huh? Dyoung's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Pt. Neches , Texas
    Posts
    1,021
    +1
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by Helinut View Post
    What are you guys using for shims? I have a RIVA plate on order, I hope to in stall it along with open loop and VTS on my 06 RXT latter this week.
    You can order the shims from McMasterCarr's web site....you might not even have to shim yours if it's from the new batch it might be good.I guess it all depends,some guy's have to shim and others don't so who knows?

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Branson, MO area
    Posts
    190
    +1
    1
    Any hint on the base part number? I probably wont want to wait and go ahead and make some on the lathe.

  8. #8
    Huh? Dyoung's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Pt. Neches , Texas
    Posts
    1,021
    +1
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by Helinut View Post
    Any hint on the base part number? I probably wont want to wait and go ahead and make some on the lathe.
    I can't copy and paste the site for some reason but go to McMasterCarr.com and click on the shims icon, There are several different kinds of shims and many different thicknesses...I used the ones that look like washers but they have some that are slotted so you can change them out without dropping your entire rideplate

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. RIVA Open loop plate w/closed loop cooling!
    By dduck1628 in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 173
    Last Post: 04-07-2014, 12:01 PM
  2. Broken Anode when installing Riva Open Loop
    By codymouse54321 in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-10-2010, 10:21 PM
  3. RIVA OPEN LOOP Install
    By repsol in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 09-06-2009, 10:22 PM
  4. riva open loop fitting,info
    By MARK_LEGG in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 09-01-2009, 04:26 AM
  5. Riva open loop cooling and the new plate
    By bobluen in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-30-2009, 06:50 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •