Page 1 of 25 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

How to take cylinder head off Ultra 150

I have a 2000 Ultra 150 with mods. The cylinder is aftermarket - ADA Billet Head.

I did a compression test tonight with a cheap compression tester. But I got #1 = 120psi, #2 = 60psi and #3 = 120psi. All 3 cylinders tested with a fully charged and brand new battery. The ski's dashboard panel continues to flash the battery light and the red warning light flashes as well. So I trickle charged the battery for 4 hours (until green "full charge" light came on to my charging unit). I compression tested #2 again and got 60psi.

Machine is currently at 104 hours. At 93 hours piston #3 was fully rebuilt. At that time compression test for cylinders came out #1=145psi, #2=145psi, and #3=0psi using a service technician's compression tester.

So I want to take the cylinder head off and look at piston #2.

Can you tell me the steps to go through...what to do...what not to do, etc.

I have never done this before -- but I am eager to tackle the job.

Thanks for your help.

Here are some pics of the cylinder case right after tonight's compression tests.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P7140009.jpg 
Views:	408 
Size:	127.1 KB 
ID:	205204Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P7140010.jpg 
Views:	540 
Size:	98.3 KB 
ID:	205205Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P7140011.jpg 
Views:	321 
Size:	101.5 KB 
ID:	205206
    Ignore the 0psi tester reading...I let the pressure off the gauge before snapping photos

And here is something unusual to me...the top of the spark plug from #2 is almost bent down to touch the rest of the plug...see if you can see it. Does that shed any light on what might be going on?
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P7140010a.jpg 
Views:	126 
Size:	63.5 KB 
ID:	205208
    That spark plug was put in at 93 hours.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P7140001.jpg 
Views:	118 
Size:	95.9 KB