Troubleshooting a yamha gp 1200r

Well got a killer deal on a 2002 gp 1200 with a double trailer and i knew something had to be wrong with the ski. I did a compression test before buying it , all cylinders are at 120-125. everything seemed solid, the guy hooked it up with the hose sounded decent.

Took it out to the water today and man is the ski very sluggish when taking off and seems to accelerate slowly but then gets up there and it doesnt help that its not original gauges so I dont think it was reading right.

Problems with the ski, it runs accelerates very slowly to get up to speed, I dont think it goes past 40, and after riding for about 25mins the warning lights comes on and it shuts off.

where should i start first when troubleshooting a problem like this.. i work on superjets which are kinda easier so i have some knowledge.

+1
    I would pull the carbs and go through them. Also check the condition of the pump.

Like beerdart said, definitely go through the carbs and check the pump. Also, I'd pull apart the stinger and check the condition of the catalytic converter, they tend to deteriorate and could have come lose from its housing and traveled further down the exhaust clogging it up.

cylinder 1 and 2's spark plugs are covered in oil and the third plug is in good condition

on the second cylinder there is a bunch of oil from close to the head all the way down the motor and only in that area which has spread around the hull.
    i wish i had more time but any ideas or where to start will be helpful

Check that CAT, bet it broke off and is lodged in the exhaust.

Quote Originally Posted by VOODOO View Post
    Check that CAT, bet it broke off and is lodged in the exhaust.
    would that being causing a bunch of oil to be clogged up in the cylinders ( also a decent amount of smoke when running?) the guy said the D plate in it

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by hfthe3rd View Post