Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Piston Pin Retainers: CirClip VS Snap Ring

OK, I've decided to draw on the collective knowledge of this site to help me answer a question that is really bugging me:

When I rebuilt the motor for my 99 XPL last year, I bought SBT pistons 'cause I heard good things about their design and they were available in the next over-bore size I needed (.5mm). When they arrived, I was surprised to see they used standard Snap Ring retainers for the piston pins. OK, I can do this, I used my SR retaining ring pliers and installed them into the grooves of the pin boss. After installation, I used a sharp pointed tool to rotate the ring in it's groove to be sure it was inserted correctly. All 4 turned and were seated. (Note: A little background - I am a machinist and have spent the last 38+ years working in everything from CNC shops to fab shops. I know how to install snap rings and use a set of snap ring pliers).

This year: I have about 15 hours on the motor and 4th of July weekend, it started to cut out at idle and run rough. Pulled the motor out this past weekend and tore it down Monday night. Found that the MAG side piston is destroyed and the cylinder sleeve will have to be pulled and replaced. Culprit: Snap Ring popped out and did it's best to beat the heck out of the piston, cylinder wall and head dome.

Question: I can get the cylinder re-sleeved in .5mm (friend has a spare sitting on the shelf) and just get a new SBT piston, but then I'm running the chance that I'll loose another hole at some point if the Snap Ring lets go again. I looked into using standard Rotax CirClips, but the design of the groove on the SBT's doesn't seem right for the CirClips.

What would you suggest?

Re-Sleeve both holes back to standard and go with OEM Rotax pistons?

Re-Sleeve the MAG hole and keep my fingers crossed?

Try to use CirClips on the SBT's and hope they'll stay in place?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version.