Page 1 of 23 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast
    +1

my rebuild thread.

i know there are allot out there right now, but i want the best advice i can get.

my ski dumped number 2 today. its down to 40psi. its getting oil. when i bought it with 95 hours on it, it had only been in fresh water. i put it in salt twice so i think that the rings didnt like that. when i rebuild it i defiantly want it to run salt and fresh water.

anyways im new to this jetski thing, i bought a running one in good shape for 4 grand hoping i wouldn't have to do this for a while, but here i am. heres what i know about rebuilds:

most people recommend sending the crank out and getting it trued and welded if its got over 100 hours on it. since im at 108 i was planning on doing this. is it okay to reuse my rods? who do i send it to and whats a ballpark on cost for having this done?

everyone says use oem yamaha stuff

so i guess my plan is send out the crank and get it welded and trued (unless you think its not necessary)

then i was planning on not touching the jugs. is this okay?

then i was planning on getting oem yamaha pistons and rings and gaskets.

that it?

the sbc rebuild kit is appealing but i hear the quality of their motors isn't that great, so how are there rebuild kits? is it necessary to use oem yamaha stuff and true and weld the crank? or should i just buy the 400 dollar rebuild kit, and call it good?

ski is used on a freshwater river mostly but i like taking it to other rivers and riding it in salt every now and then. id like to be able to do whatever with it, maybe take it to the bug.

so what should my plan of attack be?

sbt rebuild kit and nothing else or true and weld crank, oem yamaha stuff. i plan on owning the ski for a while.

also oside bill does carbs for 85 a piece too right? i should invest in that too correct?

is it bad for me and my dad to ride this thing together, hes about 200 im 160 ish?

anything else im missing?

thanks for your help everyone.

+1