GP1300R Engine Replacement Advice

Need to replace the engine on my 04 GP1300R due to blown head gasket and low compression. What advice do you all have before I get started. Is SBT a good choice for engines? Is there anything else I should considering getting when ordering the engine such as special tools. Any tricks to pulling one of these? Auto mechanic by trade so that is not a problem just wanted my ducks in a row before starting.

+1
    SBT has a great warranty, that's about all the good that I've ever heard any one say about it. Use the search to find out more. Have you torn your motor down to see what all is wrong with it?

SBT used to have a great link on their site about replacing your motor, might want to check it out.

Here is the link to the engine removal guides from SBT. They go over what tools are needed for the swap.

http://www.shopsbt.com/guides.htm

Hope that helps.

Not yet Smitty, I replaced the head gasket and found #3 cylinder wall very worn. Compression is only 60 lb in #3 which was not a real big surprise with all the water that it sucked in. Removing and inspecting the engine tomorrow. Thanks for the link Johnny5. I did a search but came up with nothing.

No problem. Good Luck!

+1
    [QUOTE=jaywaite;1505432]Need to replace the engine on my 04 GP1300R due to blown head gasket and low compression. What advice do you all have before I get started. Is SBT a good choice for engines? Is there anything else I should considering getting when ordering the engine such as special tools. Any tricks to pulling one of these? Auto mechanic by trade so that is not a problem just wanted my ducks in a row before starting.[/QUOTE