Newbie here needs help

I recently bought 2 jets skis, both polaris. One is an 2002 and runs well, hesitates a bit at half throtle but i can still ride. The other one is a 1996 750 and that has not worked since i got it. The seller didn't seem to know much about technical stuff and said is was running before. Anyways i got a good deal for the pair including the trailer so i didnt mind that it was not running cause a bit handy with tools.
    I've determined that it is not getting fuel, I can get it running as long as i spray starting fluid in the carbs. It does have the mikuni 3 outlet fuel pump that i removed and cleaned out. I was thinking of buying a new fuel pump but i would like to hear opinions as it may be something I just missed. I have noticed 2 hoses that i can not determine where they should attach.
    first one is a small clear hose that runs from under the drive shaft to the front of the Ski.

second is at the back of the ski and it's coming from the area where the bilge pump is at

Another thing that seem kinda of odd was that the fuel return nipple that comes from the carbutor seems to be plugged solid. How can it pressurize the fuel tank if it's plugged?

before I remove the carburators to clean them and before i buy a new fuel pump I would like to know where those hoses go.
    thanks in advace for you help.

She likes the bike. But the ski gets her wet!!!! xlint89's Avatar
    Cleveland OH
    Welcome to the Hulk.

First off, they didn't have a 1996 750.

It's either a 95 SL/SLT750 (which it doesn't appear to be)

Or a 1996 SL/SLX/SLT 780

The clear hose under the D/S is for the speedometer. It goes to the MFD

Second semi-clear hose is the siphon hose to remove water via the jet pump.

Replace all the fuel lines due to age.

Also looks like someone added a primer instead of the factory choke.

And I'm pretty sure you have the SLT 780, so that has the High Output fuel pump. You can get a rebuild kit for it around $15. That's the route I would go.