Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    +1

RXT-X 260 water in hull after sitting outside in a rain:(

Hey everyone.. Well quick question. I have a NEW with 0 hours on it RXT-X 260. Was cleaning out the garage yesterday and HUGE storm rolled in and I did not have my cover on the ski while it sat outside in the rain. After several hours of rain, i was able to go out and spray the ski off and clean it up. Well I opened the seat to see all kinds of water in the hull is this not a water tight ski???? I must say I am a little concerned. Also, going to put a bildge in soon, but how does the suction method work on these ski's. I see the drains, but they have hoses hooked to them and looks like when I tip in back, the water was barely coming out. Any help greatly apprciated since I am new to seadoo and tomorrow is my first time out on this ski and cant wait.

+1
    NO it's not water tight. A bilge pump is very smart. The seat soaks up a lot of water, after every day ride I leave the seat open to dry out the hull and the seat drains ALOT of water into the footwells. Yes the "bailer hoses" work great but, only while moving. Some people have had the rear hatches leak some also.

The bilge pumps are great because you can remove water at will anytime! At home on the trailer after cleaning, on the water, anytime. I personally think, not having a bilge pump on a pwc is unsafe and plain dumb. Using the iBrake a lot (demos to people) gets water in my hull, the bilge pump gets it out automatically. My brother in law, "1tommygunner1927" had a sponson leak. At the lake while sitting still, his ski would "take a piss" every now and then, without a bilge pump we would never have known about the leak!

I wrote a "How to install: Bilge pump, 4" kanaflex intake, and Groco strainer" article several years ago. check the how to section. Pics of my setup are in my thread, 2010 RXT-X 260 Pics and Comments".