Question for dealers

So I am in college right now, and at the moment I am majoring in Biometric Security (finger print scanners and such) but my real dream would be to open up a motorsports dealership (PWC, Bikes, Snowmobiles, etc) in my city so I am thinking about switching to business.. My question is, if anyone has started one from the bottom up, what does it take? How big of a loan would it take, how long to get it running, what type of personnel would I need? Those types of questions. This is of course something far down the road, but I just need to know what I would be getting myself into if I were to pursue this. Thanks in advance for any input anyone has.

anyone?

+1
    Your biggest thing you need to find out is if the Factories will allow you to start a dealership....A good friend and fellow board member just bought a exsisting dealership and the process took 3 years!!!!

+1

+1
    A few things to consider.
    Nothing against Holland ( I have some relatives who live there)
    Unemployment rate: 16.1%
    Population change: -3%
    Job growth: -8.7%
    You would have to look at those figures long and hard before even
    considering a VERY high startup cost business like a powersports dealership.
    As bad as the economy is now, starting any business would be extremely risky