Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Polaris SL 750 Wont start or rund on 2 cyls but not 3?

Hi, i've got a Polaris SL 750 3cyl 2 stroke. It will run with two plugs in doesn't matter what cyls? put third plug in and it wont run? I'll take all suggestions....
    it's driving me nuts...

She likes the bike. But the ski gets her wet!!!! xlint89's Avatar
    +1
    Runs on any 2 cyls with sparkplugs, but add the 3rd sparkplug and it won't start????

That is really weird.....

What's your compression?

i hadn't run comp test yet, but plan to later today. feel pretty even with just thumb over holes though..
    first thought was plugged exhaust, or low fuel pressure ,it's wierd to me and i have been a auto tech for 27 yrs for Ford. Usually when i see something like this on a car it's due to plugged exhaust...i hear there is alot of good PWC Techs on here? hopefully someone has come across this before..

She likes the bike. But the ski gets her wet!!!! xlint89's Avatar
    +1
    Wow!!! These engines can run on just 1 cyl (very poorly), or even 2

Doesn't make sense why adding the 3rd plug would cause it to NOT run... Unless there's a grounding problem?

The coils are wired in series, so if 1 is grounding out, it will short out the spark to the other 2. Just taking a wild guess here.

Doubt it's the exh plugged up. The exh manifold ties all together, then flows out the single pipe.

it's strange i'll agree... ordered shop manual, havn't been able to get any other ideas, but i got nothing but time...it's getting ready to start raining here soon.............. Oregon for ya..

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Quote Originally Posted by xlint89 View Post
    The plugs are wired in series...
    Actually, the ignition coil primaries are in series, but the spark plugs are each on separate high voltage circuits, one plug wire from each coil.