780 SLT running TOO good????

Guys,

I just finished rebuilding a 1997 780SLT. I rebuilt all the carbs, fuel pump, fuel lines (new), fuel petcock, all new pistons, rings, cylinders bored and honed, new plugs. I rebuilt it because it melted the MAG cylinder. I know next to nothing about 2 cycle engines but have done some 4 cycles before so I have SOME rebuild knowledge. Anyway....it fires right up and runs great but I am scared of melting another piston. I know I need to check the piston wash but that takes some time to develop and I don't want to hurt it in the mean time. Are there any other indications that would be evident if it were running lean. I'm concerned that it's actually running too fast and that might indicate it's a bit lean. I had it up to about 54 MPH today (indicated on the HUD). Does that seem too fast for this ski?

Anything else I could check?

Thanks,

TOdd

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    RPM is the measure to go by, not speed readings.

If you set the carbs to factory, then it should be OK. Many guys set the carb high speed screws to 1/4 or 1/2 turn farther OUT than spec, then dial them in closer to specification once the piston wash pattern becomes clear.

The 780 is a strong motor. A well tuned 780 SLT can run at the speeds you are reporting.

The built in speedo is only approximate. The built in tachometer is accurate.

She likes the bike. But the ski gets her wet!!!! xlint89's Avatar
    +1
    You can try plug chops, but I'm not a fan of them. (they lie)

As K447 mentioned, normally set the highs out another 1/2 turn and adj them IN once you get a wash pattern developed.

Take it easy on the long WOT runs until you're happy with the wash. Quick short bursts can get you a tach reading and not risk much damage by doing it.

What kind of RPM are you getting?

No that speed is not too much. The MFD does read higher than actual most of the time.